Urban Nerds interview

Picture 1

If you’re enjoyed getting to know UN’s ‘One 2 Watch’ , you’ll know that bringing fresh talent is what we love to do.

U.S. rapper and singer is one name you’ll likely to hear more of over the coming months having worked with Shadow Child, opened for live shows Nas, Eyrkah Badu and Justice and earlier this year, TK won the see.me music award judged by A Tribe Called Quest’s Q-Tip amongst others.

She took some time out from her summer festival circuit to tell us about her music, style and upcoming projects.

+++

Could you describe yourself/ your background to our UN readers who may be new to the world of TK Wonder?

I’m a rapper, singer and songwriter working mainly in the realm of electronic music. When I was younger I was an avid reader who loved to write but I never imagined that my career would be music. I always thought I would be a journalist or a fiction writer. I wasn’t even allowed to listen to rap growing up. As a child I always enjoyed singing however it wasn’t until years later that I decided this would be a career. It really began when I came to New York and became heavily involved in the spoken word scene. After performances I would always have people inquire if I rapped and decided to try it out. I haven’t looked back since.

You seem to be involved in a few different projects with a wide variety of producers/ writers/ musicians – do you have any big collaborations coming up?

I’m working on new music with a Macedonin artist/composer, Kiril Dzajkovski, who I tour with every summer. An electronic/house album with Brazilian producer Rodrigo Carreira. I’m part of a female duo group called WonderKiss with Kissey, producer/singer and songwriter, who is the producer in the group and I’m the songwriter and vocalist and we’re working on new material for an album. Collaboration work with a UK producer/DJ Elijah Collins, an EP with UK producer Henry Keen and collaborations with NY based electronic producer Vinny Fiore. Also a track called ‘Let Go’ with French producer/ artist Nico Llory which was just released on my birthday.

Read the full interview here!

This entry was published on July 9, 2013 at 2:56 am. It’s filed under New and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment